Secretary:- Ms Jennifer Welman


Tel +27  (0)312402114

Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Inkhosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital

800 Bellair Road

Cato Manor



About Us

The Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery, University of KwaZulu-Natal is the only Public Sector Unit providing specialist Cardiothoracic Surgical care for the Province of KwaZulu-Natal and the Northern part of the Eastern Cape Province. It is the only academic and training unit within the Province and is attached to the Nelson R Madela Medical School.

There are a consultant staff of 7 full time specialists and 2 part time. There are 6 registrar posts filled at present and a varying number of supernumary trainees.

The Department offers a surgical service for acquired and congenital cardiac disease and a thoracic surgical service for inflammatory, neoplastic and congenital pulmonary disease. It also provides a service for oesophageal malignancy in combination with the Departments of Oncology and General Surgery.

Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery is based at Inkhosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital and King Dinizulu Hospital, Durban

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved